Ask Katrina – Teacher Needs Workers Comp Help

Lawdragon is here to facilitate communication between lawyers and those who need them, like today’s writer, Barbara.

She asks:

Dear Katrina,

I am having a problem with the Workers’ Comp system ever since [California’s] Governor established the recent changes.

I teach for the Los Angeles Unified School District and was attacked by a special needs student in 1993 and run down by a general education student in 2004. I love my career and continue to work with accommodations and restrictions. Now, time is not on my side. After a recent MRI the doctors found significant cervical disc and spinal cord damage. I am being denied medical treatment. My life is at risk. How does this happen?

How do I get the system to work for me?

Thanks! Just hit reply if you have any advice for Barbara.

Leave a Reply

