The Top 100 of California

The Daily Journal, California’s leading legal news daily, released its 13th annual list of the “Top 100” last week (a feature we’re proud to have started during our years there).

As always, there are controversial omissions and some interesting fresh inclusions – as well as the power brokers who set the standard for excellence in California legal practice each and every year: Morgan Chu, Joe Cotchett, Tom Girardi, Ron Olson and Kenneth Ziffren.

Because the Daily Journal is for subscribers only, no link is available. However, here is a list of the lawyers and their firms, in alphabetical order. We encourage you to call the Daily Journal if you would like a print copy of this edition.

Nancy Abell of Paul Hastings

Paul Aronzon of Milbank Tweed

Ahilan T. Arulanantham of the ACLU of Southern California

David M. Barkan of Fish & Richardson

James D.C. Barrall of Latham & Watkins

Ralph Baxter of Orrick

Michael J. Bettinger of K&L Gates

Jeffrey L. Bleich of Munger Tolles

Theodore J. Boutrous Jr. of Gibson Dunn

Brad D. Brian of Munger Tolles

Harry ‘Skip’ Brittenham of Ziffren Brittenham

Justin P. Brooks of the California Innocence Project

James J. Brosnahan of Morrison & Foerster

Donald W. Brown of Covington & Burling

John L. Burris of The Law Offices of John L. Burris

David S. Casey Jr. of Casey Gerry

Mark Chandler of Cisco Systems

I. Neel Chatterjee of Orrick

Erwin Chemerinsky of UC Irvine School of Law

Morgan Chu of Irell & Manella

Timothy T. Coates of Greines Martin

Joseph W. Cotchett Jr. of Cotchett Pitre

Michael J. Dowd of Coughlin Stoia

Scott A. Edelman of Gibson Dunn

Barry H. Epstein of Fitzgerald Abbott

Edwin F. Feo of Milbank

Jeffrey L. Fisher of Stanford Law School

Joshua R. Floum of Visa

Russell J. Frackman of Mitchell Silberberg

Holly J. Fujie of Buchalter

Eric L. Garner of Best Best & Krieger

Chief Justice Ronald George of the California Supreme Court

Thomas V. Girardi of Girardi & Keese

Arturo J. Gonzalez of Morrison & Foerster

Marshall B. Grossman of Bingham McCutchen

Melinda L. Haag of Orrick

Brian J. Hennigan of Irell & Manella

Dennis Herrera, the San Francisco City Attorney

Luz E. Herrera of Community Lawyers Inc. of Compton

Marc C. Holscher of Kirkland & Ellis

John C. Hueston of Irell & Manella

Ned A. Israelsen of Knobbe Martens

Alan Jackson of the Los Angeles County District Attorney’s Office

Aaron H. Jacoby of Venable

Brian S. Kabateck of Kabateck Brown

Minouche D. Kandel of Bay Area Legal Aid

Louis A. Karasik of Alston & Bird

John W. Keker of Keker & Van Nest

Jennifer Keller of Keller Rackauckas

Sean K. Kennedy of the Federal public defender’s office in Los Angeles

Kenton J. King of Skadden

Karen J. Kubin of Morrison & Foerster

Theodore Latty of Hughes Hubbard

Mark A. Lemley of Durie Tangri

Jerome L. ‘Jerry’ Levine of Holland & Knight

Marc A. Levinson of Orrick

Sharon B. Majors-Lewis, Governor Schwarzenegger’s Judicial Appointments Secretary

Richard Marmaro of Skadden

Brian J. McCarthy of Skadden

Harold J. McElhinny of Morrison & Foerster

Jami Wintz McKeon of Morgan Lewis

Louis ‘Skip’ Miller of Miller Barondess

Robert F. Millman of Littler Mendelson

Robert A. Mittelstaedt of Jones Day

Schuyler ‘Sky’ M. Moore of Stroock Stroock

Karen Musalo of Hastings

Stephen C. Neal of Cooley Godward

Mary D. Nichols of the California Air Resources Board in Sacramento

Steven A. Nichols of Rutan & Tucker

Thomas J. Nolan of Skadden

Ronald L. Olson of Munger Tolles

Jeffrey E. Ostrow of Simpson Thacher

Gregory N. Pimstone of Manatt

Patrick A. Pohlen of Latham & Watkins

Matthew D. Powers of Weil Gotshal

John B. Quinn of Quinn Emanuel

Bruce M. Ramer of Gang Tyre

Alison S. Ressler of Sullivan & Cromwell

Christopher P. Reynolds of Toyota Motor Sales USA

Michael Romano of Stanford Law School

Mark S. Rosenbaum of the ACLU of Southern California

Sharon F. Rubalcava of Alston & Bird

Robert A. Sacks of Sullivan & Cromwell

Kelli L. Sager of Davis Wright

Michael A. Sherman of Bingham McCutchen

William M. Shernoff of Shernoff Bidart

Kassie Siegel of the Center for Biological Diversity in Joshua Tree

Karen E. Silverman of Latham & Watkins

Paul N. Singarella of Latham & Watkins

Martin D. Singer of Lavely & Singer

Larry W. Sonsini of Wilson Sonsini

Christine D. Spagnoli of Greene Broillet

Donald H. Specter of the Prison Law Office in Berkeley

Kenneth W. Starr of Pepperdine Law School

H. Dean Steward, a sole practitioner in San Clemente

Dan L. Stormer of Hadsell Stormer

Brian A. Sun of Jones Day

John A. Taylor Jr. of Horvitz & Levy

Alicia Villarreal of Morgan Lewis

Edward W. Zaelke of Chadbourne & Parke

Kenneth Ziffren of Ziffren Brittenham.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s